Political System

The System of government in Korea is a pluralistic, democratic and presidential system, the president is elected by popular vote every five years, for one term  only. The President Appoints the Prime Minister and has the right to release him from his duties.

The parliament consists of 299 members, about 80% of its members are elected directly, others are elected based on a proportional representation system. Despite the fact that the presidential system is prevailing now, yet  there is a call to change it  to a parliamentary system in order to reduce the absolute power of the president, and to grant the rights of appointing and removing of prime minister to the parliament.

Political Parties

There are several political parties, including the following: 
Saenuri Party(NFP): it is the ruling party with 172 seats in the parliament, it is a right-wing conservative party, loyal to the United States and conservative in its relationship with North Korea, it has been ruling  Korea over the last seven years.

• Democratic Party:
the main opposition party with 82 seats in the parliament, it has been ruling Korea over the past decade under different names. It is a liberal party with an opposition left tendency. It supports dealing positively with North Korea and has some reservations against the US presence and against the alliance with the United States. It has a remarkable ability to motivate the people and run strong popular campaigns to oppose some of the policies or decisions of the government especially as the most of its supporters are from the youth generation, which assist to run social opposition campaigns via the Internet.

• Progressive Freedom Party : 18 seats in the parliament.
• Liberal Democrats Party: 5 seats in the parliament.

• Korea Renewal Party: has three seats in the parliament.